AUTHOR PROFILE Julie Kuschke
Curious Planeteer working to make the Earth's changes visible, accessible and actionable.

Self-guided learning opportunities for Black History Month, February 2021

Stories

We’re proud to celebrate Black History Month at Planet as a time to listen, learn, and reflect on Black joy and culture. We’ve identified a number of self-guided learning opportunities that we’ll be engaging in throughout the month. Join us: 

Tuesday, February 2, 2021

Historically Speaking: Four Hundred Souls – A Conversation With Ibram Kendi And Keisha N. Blain – The National Museum of African American History and Culture will host a moderated discussion on historic eras such as Slavery, Reconstruction, Segregation, and their sustained impact on the United States.

Time: 7-8:30pm EST / 4-5:30pm PST 

Wednesday, February 3, 2021

A Celebration of African American Life and History: Trailblazer Dr. Mae Jemison – The Association of the Study of African American Life and History will host a conversation with the Dr. Mae Jemison, first African American woman to travel into space on the Space Shuttle Endeavour. 

Time: 5-6pm EST / 2-3pm PST

Black Women and Political Leadership – Oakland History Center librarian Dorothy Lazard will host Linda Burnham, co-founder of the Women of Color Resource Center, and Judy Juanita, Laney College professor and former Black Panther Party newspaper editor, to discuss the developing role and influence of Black women in political leadership. 

Time: 9-10:30pm EST / 6-7:30pm PST

Wednesday, February 10, 2021 

Presentation: Faces of Resistance A partnership with the National Park Service – The San Francisco Public Library will host two National Park Rangers to uncover stories of resilience from members of the Black community in San Francisco.  

Time: 3-4pm EST / 12-1pm PST

Innovative Lives: Uncharted Power, featuring Nigerian-American inventor, CEO, and venture capitalist Jessica O. Matthews – The Smithsonian’s Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation will highlight the innovative life and work of Jessica O. Matthews. Matthews is the co-founder of Uncharted Power, and inventor of Soccket. Her work lies at the intersection of disruptive technology, renewable energy, and human behavior. 

Time: 4-5:30pm EST / 1-2:30pm PST

Brown Lecture Series: Dr. Maya Rockeymoore Cummings, James Dale and Dr. Freeman Hrabowski – Enoch Pratt Free Library, in partnership with Reginald F. Lewis Museum, will host a conversation on the life and legacy of Elijah Cummings, former United States Representative and civil rights advocate. His book, “We’re Better Than This,” tells the story of modern-day democracy and the threats we all must face together.

Time: 7-8pm EST / 4-5pm PST

Monday, February 15, 2021 

Yes We Did: Photos And Behind-the-Scenes Stories Celebrating Our First African American President with Lawrence Jackson – Reginald F. Lewis Museum will host White House photographer who covered President Barack Obama over his eight years in office, Lawrence Jackson. 

Time: 7-8pm EST / 4-5pm PST

Tuesday, February 16, 2021 

BLATANT | A Forum on Art, Joy and Rage – The Museum of Art and Design in San Francisco will host a conversation between Ashara Ekundayo, Yoruba Richen and Maori Holmes, as part of their BLATANT forum series, which centers the experiences and imagination of Black womxn artists and cultural workers. This month’s discussion will highlight artists whose creative practices heal communities and save lives.

Time: 4-5:30pm EST / 1-2:30pm PST

Wednesday, February 17, 2021 

The Unveiling of “#SayHerName Women Of The Black Panther Party Mural” – The DeYoung Museum of San Francisco will celebrate the unveiling of the first-ever public art installation honoring the Women of The Black Panther Party and their historic contributions. Jilchristina Vest, organizer of the Women of the Black Panther Party Mural, will discuss the artistic process, significance, and social impact behind this monumental project. 

Time: 8-9pm EST / 5-6pm PST 

Black Matters: The World of Afrofuturism – The Oakland Public Library will host a discussion with filmmaker, Celia Peter, on various expressions of the cultural phenomenon, Afrofuturism – what it is, where it came from, and why it’s here to stay.

Time: 9-10pm EST / 6-7pm PST

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Historically Speaking: The Economic Impact Of COVID-19 On The African American Community – The National Museum of African American History and Culture will host a discussion on the impact the COVID-19 pandemic has had on the economy and the African American community. 

Time: 7-8pm EST / 4-5pm PST

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Diving with a Purpose: Recovering and Reexamining Our Roots – The Association of the Study of African American Life and History will host a panel discussion featuring deep sea divers who discover and investigate wreckages of slave ships to preserve the heritage of Black people. 

Time: 6:30-7:30pm EST / 3:30-4:30pm PST

Thursday, February 25, 2021

Michael Mwenso: Hope, Resiste & Heal, Performance and conversation with Shannon Effinger – This live studio recording hosted by the New York City Parks Department and featuring Mwenso and the Shakes, a multicultural New York jazz group, will discuss the continuum and power of Black roots music. 

Time: 7-7:45pm EST / 4-4:45pm PST

 

Additional Resources:
Library of Congress – African American History Month

Smithsonian Education – Black History Month 

National Park Service – African American Heritage

National Archives – African American History Portal

National Endowment for the Humanities – African American History and Culture

History Channel 

Our websites use cookies.
We use cookies to improve our services and tailor content for you. Your browser settings control cookies. For more information about the use of cookies on our websites, please see our Privacy Policy.