AUTHOR PROFILE Karina Ruiz Garcia
Curious Planeteer working to make the Earth's changes visible, accessible and actionable.

Self-Guided Resources: LGBTQ+ Month June 2022

Stories

We are proud to celebrate Pride Month here at Planet, and we invite you to join us in learning about the resilience of the LGBTQ+ community and the rich history of the fight for equality. These month-long self-guided learning opportunities offer resources for individuals looking to get informed and involved.

Virtual Events:

Thursday, June 2, 2022 

Out in Tech Over-40 Committee | Pride 2022 Networking Mixer

Join other LGBTQ+ folx in tech to network and discuss matters of pride from an #Over-40 perspective. The session will begin with an event introduction and then move into a series of two different breakout rooms for discussion.

Time: 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM PDT / 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM EDT 

Wednesday, June 8, 2022

MindHK: LGBTQ+ Mental Health Workshop  

Resilience Ally – Mind HK developed a 1-hour workshop focused on how to be an effective mental health ally to the community. This workshop is for anyone who wants to be an ally to the LGBTQ+ community.

Time: 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM HKT

Thursday, June 9, 2022

Keith Haring: AIDS, Advocacy and Art 

Join the Manchester City Library from 7-8 pm via Zoom for the fourth installment of their 6-part Culturally Curious Art Series, presented by Jane Oneail. This session will focus on Keith Haring, an artist that had a meteoric rise from graffiti artist to the world of fine art to mainstream success. His iconic figures still function as familiar and beloved symbols in American culture. The Manchester City Library will share more about the artist, the launch of his career and his advocacy around AIDS awareness.

Time: 4:00 PM – 5:00 PM PDT / 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM EDT

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

Coffee Chats: Pride Month – Celebrating Successful LGBTQ+ Entrepreneurs 

Pride is about communities coming together. This panel created by Economic Alliance Snohomish County will host local experts and local small business owners who will share their success stories and how they inspire their community with inner strength and stories of resiliency.

Time: 8:30 AM – 9:30 AM PDT / 11:30 AM – 12:30 PM EDT

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

LGBTQIA+ Allyship & Mental Health – This free workshop hosted by Jewel Cadet will provide interactive discussion and analysis around personal identity, power, and privilege with an intersectional approach that addresses mental wellness as a pillar. Jewel will lead a discussion that explores important social markers and how one’s role can be used to promote the values of equity, diversity and inclusion that supports the liberation of the LGBTQIA community.

Time: 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM EDT

Pride Parades:

Saturday, June 11, 2022  

Texas Pride Parade & Dallas Pride Information

Washington DC Pride Parade & Pride Information

Sunday, June 26, 2022

San Francisco Pride Parade

Denver Pride Parade

Seattle Pride Parade & Pride Information

Additional Resources:

Reading materials

Explore the history of the LGBTQ movement in America

What Happened at the Stonewall Riots? A Timeline of the 1969 Uprising 

Women Got Married Long Before Gay Marriage

The Supreme Court Rulings That Have Shaped Gay Rights in America 

History of Gay Rights  

Insightful LGBTQ+ Movies to Watch

Paris is Burning (1990) 

Disclosure: Trans Lives on Screen (2020) 

The Death and Life of Marsha P. Johnson (2017) 

The Danish Girl (2015)

Our websites use cookies.
We use cookies to improve our services and tailor content for you. Your browser settings control cookies. For more information about the use of cookies on our websites, please see our Privacy Policy.