Thiladhunmathi Atoll, Maldives. Collected on January 29, 2021. © 2021, Planet Labs Inc. All Rights Reserved.
AUTHOR PROFILE Julie Kuschke
Curious Planeteer working to make the Earth's changes visible, accessible and actionable.

Self-Guided Learning Opportunities For Mental Health and Wellness Month, May 2021

Stories

Through these self-guided learning opportunities, we’re hoping to inspire others to raise awareness and take part in sharing information, resources, and support for mental health and wellness month. Join us in these month-long opportunities! 

Monday, May 3, 2021

Mental Health First Aid – RecognitionPenn Medicine Princeton Health is hosting an overview of their in-depth Mental Health First Aid training led by Debbie Millar, RN, and Craig Harley, both certified mental health instructors, to discuss how to recognize the signs of a mental health condition and crisis. 

Time: 4pm ET / 7pm ET

Tuesday, May 4, 2021

Angst Film Screening SMCOE Presents ANGST: Raising Awareness Around Anxiety. The event includes a screening of the 43-minute film, followed by a panel discussion and Q&A with local mental health/substance abuse prevention experts.

Time: 6pm PT / 9pm ET

Friday, May 7, 2021

National Children’s Mental Health Awareness Day focuses on the importance of social connectedness-a sense of community-in enhancing resilience in young adults ages 16 to 24 with mental health and substance use challenges.

Time: 12pm PT / 3pm ET

Monday, May 11, 2021

Mindfulness to Reduce Stress – Penn Medicine Princeton Health will host an informative session led by Carolyn Schindewolf, health educator with Penn Medicine Princeton Health Community Wellness, to learn how mindfulness can help reduce or stop brain chatter and habitual reactions, improve mood and energy, increase focus and mental clarity, and deepen your enjoyment and appreciation of life.

Time: 3:3pm PT / 6:30pm ET

Thursday, May 13, 2021

SafeSpace: screening Many Generations, One ConversationSafespace, a youth-led, mental health-focused organization that empowers young people to engage openly with their local schools and communities, will host 

a discussion about teen mental health, some misperceptions about it, and watch a video that will highlight bridging the generational and cultural gap while addressing the challenges around stigma. 

Time: 8pm PT / 11pm ET

Wednesday, May 14, 2021

Getting Past an Unrealistic Body Image – Heather Bainbridge, EdM,MA, RDN, Registered Dietitian Nutritionist with Princeton Medical Center will host an informative session to gain a better understanding of body image, how to help yourself and others improve perspectives on body image, and how to increase acceptance of body size rather than focus on attaining “the perfect body.”

Time: 9am PT / 12pm ET

Monday, May 17, 2021

Mental Health & PetsSpeakers from Peninsula Humane Society & SPCA and Office of Diversity & Equity will host a lunchtime to share their pets on zoom and talk about their experiences. Participants are welcome to have their own pets nearby if they want to introduce them. 

Time: 12pm PT / 3pm PT

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Managing Burnout in the Midst of Crisis – Led by Chelsea Williamson, MSW, LCSW, a therapist with Princeton House Behavioral Health, this program will share more information on: 

  • The warning signs of burnout
  • Helpful skills and tools to manage burnout
  • Tips on handling stress
  • How to reach out for help and available resources

Time: 4pm PT / 7pm ET

Thursday, May 20, 2021

STUCK@HOME – Stanford Medicine will host a virtual concert, allowing the power of music to heal and unite, particularly during uncertain times. 

Time: 5:30pm PT / 8:30pm ET

Saturday, May 22, 2021

National Alliance on Mental Illness United Day of Hope – NAMIWalks Your Way will host a virtual celebration for Mental Health for All.  

Time: All day 

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

Nutritional Strategies to Cope with Stress – Heather Bainbridge, EdM, MA, RDN, a registered dietitian nutritionist with Princeton Medical Center will host an informative session to teach how stress can impact your appetite and strategies to manage it without putting your nutritional needs at risk.

Time: 9am PT / 12pm ET

Thursday, May 27, 2021

BeWell in Nature – Stanford BeWell will host BeWell in Nature, a free, virtual, all-day event to help you recenter and revitalize through the tranquility of nature. Sessions include the science of nature’s impact on well-being, connecting to your authentic self through movement, journaling in nature, and finding resilience and connection through nature.

Time: 9am PT (all day)

Ongoing opportunities to engage at your leisure:

Working from Home: Tips and tactics for managing your employees, and your own, mental health

Mental Health America list of resources. 

Our websites use cookies.
We use cookies to improve our services and tailor content for you. Your browser settings control cookies. For more information about the use of cookies on our websites, please see our Privacy Policy.